How is Child Support Calculated in Texas?

In the state of Texas, child support is paid by the obligor to the obligee. In nearly all cases, the obligee is the parent with whom the child primarily resides. There are exceptions to this rule, but they are rare.
Child custody payments are calculated as a percentage of the obligor’s monthly income. If this income exceeds $8,550, nothing above that amount is considered. This means that an obligor with one child and a monthly income in excess of $8,550 will only be required to pay $1,710. The amount will, however, increase with each additional child.

Child support percentages in Texas are as follows:

• 1 child — 20% of net resources
• 2 children — 25% of net resources
• 3 children — 30% of net resources
• 4 children — 35% of net resources
• 5+ children — 40% of net resources

The Attorney General of Texas has a child support calculator outline that can be used to find the exact amount that you, as an obligor, can expect to pay monthly until the child receiving support turns 18 or graduates from high school. In cases with multiple children, support amounts are reduced as each child meets one of those benchmarks.

CategoryUncategorized

Copyright © 2018 Mat Rueda Law Firm

logo-footer

STAY CONNECTED WITH US: