CHILD SUPPORT (NEED TO KNOW QUICK HITS)

How Much Will I Pay in Child Support?

Texas Family Code 154.125 provides the chart on child support guidelines and it is as follows:

CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES BASED ON THE MONTHLY NET RESOURCES OF THE OBLIGOR

1 child 20% of Obligor’s Net Resources

2 children 25% of Obligor’s Net Resources

3 children 30% of Obligor’s Net Resources

4 children 35% of Obligor’s Net Resources

5 children 40% of Obligor’s Net Resources

6+ children Not less than the amount for 5 children

The cap for child support was recently increased on September 1, 2013 from $7500 to $8550. This is the new child support cap for application of the percentages to monthly net resources. Therefore, this is not an increase completely; it only applies to those who have a gross monthly income of approximately between $10,000 and $11,000.00.

How Long Will I Pay Child Support?

Texas Family Code Section 154.001 provides the requirements of how long one must pay child support. Generally, most fathers pay child support until the child emancipates which means they turn 18 or graduate high school, whichever occurs later. Therefore, if your child is 18 but still enrolled in high school, then you can be ordered to continue paying support until graduation month. However, if you have a child who is disabled, you could potentially pay support for as long as that disability persists.

CategoryUncategorized

Copyright © 2018 Mat Rueda Law Firm

logo-footer

STAY CONNECTED WITH US: