WHAT IS A STANDARD POSSESSION ORDERPer the Texas Family Code, a Standard Possession Order constitutes the default visitation arrangement in all Texas divorces where children are involved. This SPO contains a detailed parenting time schedule setting forth not only exactly when you and your ex-spouse will have your children during the year, but also how you will go about exchanging them.

Less than 100 miles apart:
If you and your ex-spouse will live within 100 miles of each other after your divorce, the SPO gives the children to the possessory conservator as follows: From 6 p.m. Friday to 6 p.m. Sunday on the first, third and fifth weekends of each month
• From 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. every Thursday during the school year
• Pick-up and return by the receiving parent of your children from and to the other parent’s home or another mutually agreed upon location
• Return to the other parent by the receiving parent of all clothing and other items the children bring with them

Over 100 miles apart:
If you and your ex-spouse will live more than 100 miles from each other after your divorce, the SPO gives the children to the possessory conservator as follows:
From 6 p.m. on Friday to 6 p.m. on Sunday one weekend each month
• Extended time during the children’s summer and spring breaks
• Choice by the receiving parent of which weekend, but (s)he must give the other parent at least 14 days’ prior notice via letter, email or phone.

CategoryUncategorized

Copyright © 2019 Mat Rueda Law Firm

logo-footer

STAY CONNECTED WITH US: